Picture of the Week: 찜질방 (Jjimjilbang) Traditional Korean Bathhouse

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Last weekend I went to a traditional Korean bathhouse (찜질방 jjimjilbang) for the first time! To be honest, I was a bit scared to go because you have to be completely undressed while you’re in the actual bath section! It really wasn’t bad at all though, to everyone there it was completely normal so I didn’t really feel uncomfortable. As for what you actually do at the bathhouse: you first pay and then split of to the male and female sections. You get undressed in the locker room and then you have full access to a variety of different pools and showers of different temperature water. After you soak and shower you can get dressed in an outfit they provide you and go to the sauna section. At the Jjimjilbang I went to, there was a fire room, a red clay sauna, a salt sauna, an herb sauna, and a cool room. You can also eat snacks, watch tv, play games, or take a nap! I also made video of my trip so you can see more of what it’s like:

6 thoughts on “Picture of the Week: 찜질방 (Jjimjilbang) Traditional Korean Bathhouse

  1. Sophia

    Wow! That sounds like a deluxe version of a spa in America!! 👏 It sounds like the bathhouse is a place that a whole family could live if they wanted! One question, are the pools you described for swimming or bathing? 🤔🤔
    -Sophia (H)

    Like

    1. It is like a spa but way cheaper! They also offer massages and scrubs there but it costs more money. The pools are mainly for just like soaking. You’re not supposed to swim and you take a shower before you get in so you can just relax in the different temperatures

      Like

  2. Sean H.

    That sounds better then any other swimming pool I’ve been to. I can see why you would be uncomfortable at first because you do wear anything. I don’t think that would work here though… because we don’t have things like that and.. come on, it’s America 🙂

    Like

    1. Hmm, I would say the most interesting thing was just experiencing the women’s bath area – there was also this cute little girl who was only probably 3 or 4 years old.. she was really intrigued with me and when I was sitting with my feet in the cold pool she came up to me and told me to get in but I told her it was too cold and we played around for a little bit ~ that was really sweet and she was the only Korean that talked to me there haha

      Like

Leave a comment