Picture of the Week: Oeam Folk Village 외암 민속 마을

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

A while ago I was able to visit a traditional village near my college called Oeam Folk Village. The village is preserved so that the traditions and way of life from hundreds of years ago can be remembered in the modern day. Oeam Village was founded around 500 years ago and is still inhabited by the direct descendants of the founder! The village isn’t just a tourist attraction, it is the actual home of a few dozen people who live their lives without modern comforts in order to preserve a vital part of Korean culture. One of the most fun attractions is that you can pound and eat your own rice cakes made from rice harvested at the village!

8 thoughts on “Picture of the Week: Oeam Folk Village 외암 민속 마을

  1. Sarah

    Hi,
    I love how the people have preserved their culture in a little village. What was one of the most fun experiences you had there? Were the people kind and humble? Have fun in your last 27 days!!

    Like

    1. I think for me the most fun was just walking through the rice fields! It was so quiet and peaceful and I’ve never actually seen rice growing in real life before so it was really interesting! The people there were really nice and excited to share their culture!

      Like

  2. Arissa Bolster

    Hey, I really liked the picture of the rice!!!! I never really saw a picture of rice but I always thought it would be something like corn or sugar cane. When I saw the picture it made me pretty happy, it was like grass, and yellow flowery things. Also when I saw that picture of the totem poles the seemed really unique. It looked like the jested carved it from a tree, is that true?

    Like

  3. Sophia

    Hey Kim!
    Before seeing this post, I never had actually seen what rice looked like when it was grown. It’s very interesting to see how small the rice plants are comparing to some other plants such as grapes, or corn. Have fun on the last 26 days of your trip!
    Bye now!
    Sophia (H)

    Like

Leave a comment